Hi to all in the register forum

New to the MGF Register? Pop in here and introduce yourself, find out what your local region is and view some useful links!

Moderator: Committee Members

Yojic
MGF Register Region: East Anglia

Hi to all in the register forum

Post by Yojic » Tue Jun 25, 2019 10:07 pm

Newbie here by accident!

I did not expect to be the owner of a 1998 MGF, as I am embarking on restoration project, I thought an easy one would be best to lead myself into it. Reason being is to get my young Son off the PS4 :o . Therefore, I ended up with an MGF with the engine and gear box out in a renovated rear sub frame. I am lead to believe that the engine has been worked on. Yet to find out from the previous registered owner who done the work ( retired Policeman). I has been off the road approx 18 months.

Now, I have not a clue where to start, bought the workshop manual to give some pointers, it seems a lot of work but could be interesting, I am assured all the parts are in the box that came with the car, we will see :lol:

I hope that one of you veteran MGF fans could give some advice and steps to get this project underway or point me to a thread where one of the guys has done it. At the moment I am starting blind :o it’s a bit of a dilemma at the moment. So any pointers will be appreciated. I would also like to keep a photo diary on the progress and post so others can benefit, mistakes as well :lol:

Regards

Dave
[/color]Cars...BMW 330D, MGF 75th Anniversary, MG Midget K-Series maybe :sf:
Triumph TR6 CP soon to be pristine :kiss: (in about 10 years :lol: )

Getting into restoration with my young Son "Seb"

Yojic

Re: Hi to all in the register forum

Post by Yojic » Tue Jun 25, 2019 10:14 pm

Attached photos what this project is about
Attachments
80B74284-9BB4-41C9-8DEB-FEAD3FB93C30.jpeg
25C0FD1C-45D1-476E-AAEB-B19B8737C6A5.jpeg
035D9E31-1DA9-4D28-8811-8C752438DB3B.jpeg

John SS
MGF Register Region: Midlands
Model of Car: 2000 MGF VVC