Engine Swap for a larger engine? Possible?

You can talk about anything here. You'll also find a section with member posted photos of our events here.

Moderator: Committee Members

MK6
MGF Register Region: Europe

Engine Swap for a larger engine? Possible?

Post by MK6 » Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:17 pm

I'm new to MG Fs and TFs. But I always liked the cars. Cars like the MX5 have always got praise and I always felt the MG roadsters were underrated. But I always preferred the MGs, especially style wise .

I have always thought about buying one but never got to. Now I'm finally in a position where I could justify adding a sport car to the fleet, adding a third car to the family. So I was thinking of a project sports car of some sort, when I remembered the MG F. I am giving preference to the MG F over the MG TF because of the Hydragas suspension, which I heard is easier to deal with for a heavier engine swap.

I tried researching online and couldn't really find much in terms of engine swaps. That surprised me as the other affordable sports cars such as MX5, MR2, Fiero, Elise and others all have widely reported and known engine swaps. From other 4 cylinders to even V8s. The MG F is not any smaller than these cars. So I wonder why you don't hear about swaps?

Have there been successful swaps done? I searched the forums here and found some mentions and a failed attempt of swapping in a KV6, which resulted in the car being sold before the swap was done. But no successful stories to be found.

I would specially be interested in putting something bigger in there. Not a V8 but a V6 for sure. Don't want to swap for another 4 cylinders such as a Honda unit, which seems to be the only swap that has been successful. Although even that I haven't read anything concrete about.